Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today I’m feeling quite pleased with myself. My Amazon exclusive contract has run out and I’ve discovered Smashwords! I can’t believe I’ve been at this game for just about a year and I’ve only just come across Smashwords. To be fair I did read about it a while ago, but I didn’t really understand just how great it is. It is a wonderful platform for people like me who want to self-publish but it does so much more and it’s all free.
It desribes itself as the world’s leading ebook publishing and distribution platform for indie ebook authors and publishers and it is great! Remember me saying that all retailers seem to want their ebooks in different formats? Well, Smashwords will convert your Microsoft Word document into 9 different formats and then distribute your finished product to lots of retailers worldwide. And there are some fabulous downloadable information guides about how to format, how to publish, how to market – in fact everything you want to know. I am so impressed!
I have spent the past few days redesigning my book covers and putting the finishing touches to my manuscripts and this morning I have published five books – three of my Laura Jessop novels and two others written under my pen name Ali Marston. Now I have to wait for them to be reviewed before they can be distributed to other retailers like Kobo, Nook (Barnes & Noble), Apple, Sony and more. But in the meantime they are available for sale on Smashwords website.
And in the meantime I’m back to marketing. There are so many good ideas, some of them have to work. Fingers crossed (and you can’t believe how difficult it is to type with your fingers crossed!).
If you’re thinking of self-publishing, or even if you’re a little way down the road like I was, check out Smashwords. You won’t regret it.

Tanya Carlysle
Creator of Laura Jessop, female sleuth
http://www.tanyacarlysle.com
tweet: @tanyacarlysle
http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/tanyacarlysle

